Newbie Seeking Advice

I have no experience so far in setting up any shopping carts or anything (though I've done some blog software and other database PHP stuff).

I want a very simple way to get credit card numbers from people wishing to rent a villa in South Africa. My property manager will run the credit cards on her machine. I just need a secure way for a renter to get me their number.

I am willing to buy a security certificate from TCH. Now I just need some way for a client to input their credit card number so it will get to me (I can retrieve it from a database and then delete it, or whatever). I don't need it to charge the card or anything.

What would be the simplest and best way to set this up? Thank you for your help.

Pat

While I don't have any shopping carts on my sites, I would suggest that you might want to look at scripting sites like hotscripts.com. I would, however, make sure that security is of utmost importance when setting up your script. IMHO...you can never do enough research!

Maybe others who use shopping carts on a regular basis can offer up some other solutions for you.

Edited by stevevan

A client may not like their credit card details stored on a database, I know I don't, and you would have to warn clients this is what would happen. You would also have to make them aware the transition is not quick, some people expect to see it appear on there internet banking site immediatley

JimE

Thanks for the comments. Since people are coming from all over Europe (to either London or Cape Town), phone calls are less than ideal (though not impossible).