Password Protection?

buddingchef

I'm new to TCH and pretty new to most of the features in CPanel, although I know it's basic functions.

My site is an online cooking school and when people sign up they will all have a unique username and password. I need to make a (log-in) form that will allow my users to log into

the member area of the site after their membership fee is processed. Bravenet won't cut the mustard, because I don't think you can have a form with unique usernames and passwords.

You can only configure them on a gateway page with a common name and password.

Could someone please tell me what area of CPanel I need to go to to configure a form like this, or if there is even a spot there that will allow me to do this.

Thanks in advance

Deb

Thank you both for such a prompt reply. So far am very impressed with service and support here. I can make web pages till the cows come home, but am a bit out of my league with Perl/cgi, etc....since I've no idea what either of them are! :lol:

I've looked at free scripts that won't do what I need them to on different free script sites and

also found a free cgi script at http://www.ftls.org/en/ called WAccess but the config instructions go like:

Copy *.cgi and *.pl in your /cgi-bin/ directory.

Copy password.txt, *.html in your data directory

Make it executable, unix only (chmod a+rx *.cgi)

Make writable data file, unix only (chmod a+rw *.txt)

GULP! I'm assuming this stuff has to go into the respective folders in my site folders, but

I don't even know where to begin. Might have to think up something else for this!

I will certainly check out aMember though, looks like they have lots of goodies on their site.

Thanks again!

Deb

Hey Deb. Did you take a look at aMember?

to make a (log-in) form that will allow my users to log into the member area of the site after their membership fee is processed.