Protection On Shared Server?

I'm pretty new at managing my own web-hosted site and domain. I've had my own website for years under whatever ISP I've used (currently Comcast). On those, I never had to worry about virus and malware protections for my files or email.

Recently, one of my email address on TotalChoice had a virus attachment come through on it. My local computer, using MS Outlook and Norton's caught it. I immediately went into my mail manager and turned off the space allocation for that email address (the email with the virus had been deleted when Outlook picked up the mail).

What does one need to do on their shared server for protection? Would I buy a copy of, say, Norton's to upload to my shared webspace? I would imagine there is a better program for this situation. How about protection of the email online?

I know there are free virus checkers online. If I were to use one of those, how do I go about telling them to check the space on my shared server, and not the computer terminal I'm working from?

Thanks for any help in de-mystifying this for me!

Patti Stoll

Your ISP is running your email through a virus filter before passing it on to your email client.

With your account here the servers do no virus filtering so it is up to you to run virus protection software on your own machine (keeping it up to date) that will scan the mail when being downloaded.

TotalChoice Hosting prohibits the sending and receiving of certain file extensions in an effort to minimize viruses getting through but there is no scanning of the emails for viruses. You can see a list of the extensions being blocked by clicking here.

Thanks for such a quick answer, Bruce. I do know that my ISP (Comcast) runs virus protections for me on my mail (even tho some do get through). I also have all sorts of protections on my own computer, from malware to virus, and all of my email is screened by Norton's when I download it.