Internal Hyperlinks

Mae

I have one big problem that I want to solve before I sign up - links. Maybe you techie folks can help me (it's probably one of those duh things). My links between pages keep breaking. I fix them. I save them. They work. And then they break again. It's driving me crazy. I don't feel comfortable uploading to the WWW until I understand (and fix) this problem. I'm using Frontpage 2000. I click on the item that I want to act as a link (small graphic button w/text). I click on hyperlink. I click on the place I want it to go. I click ok. It works, and then later on everything breaks again.

Also, how do I upload FP once I have an account? Do I just click publish? What's next?

Please be patient...major newbie here... :D

Hi Mae,

Welcome to the forum :D

when it has broken - can you right click, copy the link, and then paste it here - we maybe able to tell you what is wrong with it then.

Once you have an account, with the domain name all set up, then yes, just click publish.

When you have a site in place, yes, you just publish FrontPage to it and you're off and running. I do recommend you upgrade to FP 2003, it is significantly better and more sound than FP 2000. Well worth the dinero.

When you say the link breaks, where is it breaking, in the "preview" pane of FrontPage or when you view the page in the browser?

Are you saving your page before previewing in Frontpage or in the browser?

Is the link within your site or is it in an external site?

My guess it the problem has to do w/ one of these processes and how the link is put into FrontPage.

When you have a site in place, yes, you just publish FrontPage to it and you're off and running.  I do recommend you upgrade to FP 2003, it is significantly better and more sound than FP 2000.  Well worth the dinero.

I would like to do that eventually - it's a bit pricey right now.