zro@redtv Posted June 4, 2004 Posted June 4, 2004 I appologize if this is a topic. too many mail post with ambigious titles and descriptions. When I send mail to a user that im sure ive created it bounces with this delivry report Final-Recipient: rfc822; <user@domain.org>Action: failed Status: 5.0.0 550_5.7.1_Unable_to_relay_for_user@domain.org Diagnostic-Code: smtp; Permanent Failure: Other undefined Status Last-Attempt-Date: Fri, 4 Jun 2004 00:33:06 -0000 I know that the ccount exists.... and not ALL of the accounts bounce... just this one.... and there are no strange characters or anything like that. boy-o-boy....how annoying. (also... no filters are goin or anything like that.) THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE HELP! (tch support forums are awesome) Quote
TCH-Rob Posted June 4, 2004 Posted June 4, 2004 Try changing your SMTP port to 26 and let me know if that fixes it. Quote
zro@redtv Posted June 4, 2004 Author Posted June 4, 2004 by "change smtp" I assume u mean reconfigure my mail client to use a different port when connecting to my outgoing server. I fail to understnd the relationship, so i must be misintrupreting. ALSO: I noticed my unrouted mail is no longer being delivered to the "default address" (when i change my outgoing port (smtp) my connction timesout because my isp handels smtp on 25) Quote
TCH-Rob Posted June 4, 2004 Posted June 4, 2004 Is your SMTP server that of your ISP or your Domain name. If it is the domain name then your ISP may block relaying on port 25. If you use your domain name as your SMTP server then changing to 26 and try making it use authentication on outgoing messages as well. That or use your ISP's SMTP server as your outgoing server on port 25. Quote
zro@redtv Posted June 4, 2004 Author Posted June 4, 2004 I have been using my ISP email. When i use another ("internal")webmail account to send to the disfunctional one, it seems to work, but when I send mail from any other domain it bounces. I have tried sending from: another@domain.com - this worksuser@isp.com - this bounces user@otherfreewebmail.com - also bounces I have tried all three from multiple computers on different connections. So it seems to me as though this mail is filtering 'foreign' domains or something? does this make sense? ... thank god for forums. thanks so much for the help. Quote
TCH-Bruce Posted June 4, 2004 Posted June 4, 2004 Have you tried deleting the account and setting it up again? If that doesn't work you may want to open a Help Desk ticket (link at top of page) and have them look into it. Quote
zro@redtv Posted June 4, 2004 Author Posted June 4, 2004 i have deleted and recreated.... ill try that again, and try a help tiket. . thanks! Quote
zro@redtv Posted June 5, 2004 Author Posted June 5, 2004 Hmmm..... I have a seperate registrar which i previously used to route email forwards. This contains host info for a MX record. Shold this be updated to point @ domain.com now? It has had the current entry previously and mail workd but could this be the problem? Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.