Need A Little Help With Some Php Mysql Functions

samporras

Hi guys.

I'm still relatively new to php programming and I'm having some problems with some functionality that i am currently writing. I want to capture all the data from my database table and put it in a 2 dimensional array. I found this function online that seems to do the trick:

>function mysql_fetch_data($result, $numass=MYSQL_BOTH) {
$i=0;
$keys=array_keys(mysql_fetch_array($result, $numass));
mysql_data_seek($result, 0);
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result, $numass)) {
	foreach ($keys as $speckey) {
		$got[$i][$speckey]=$row[$speckey];
	}
	$i++;
}
return $got;
}

the problem i am having is that i want to reference each element within the master array dynamically:

>	$result = mysql_query($select, $conn) or die(mysql_error());
$rowcount = mysql_num_rows($result);
$properties = mysql_fetch_data($result);

for($i=1; $i<10; $i++)
{			
	if($rowcount <= $i)
	{
		echo('filename: '.$properties[$i]['filename'].'<br />');
	}
	else
	{
				   //do something else
	}
}

why is it that i can not reference that specific index position dynamically? when i replace my variable ($i) with a specific value, the correct value for my field 'filename' is appearing. am i missing something or doing something incorrectly?? any help would be greatly appreciated! ;)

Thanks in advance,

Sam

The first thing I notice is the for loop. You are first starting from element 1 in the array ($i = 1) but PHP arrays start from 0. So change that to $i = 0;

Secondly you are looping through the data 9 times but you should be looping through while $i is LESS than $rowcount. So change that to $i <$rowcount;

Then inside the loop you are checking to see if $rowcount is LESS that or equal to $i. I don't get what you are trying to do, surely you would want it the other way around otherwise the data you are seeking in the array will not exist.

Personally I would change your for-loop to:

>for($i=0; $i<$rowcount; $i++)
{