The Importance Of Picking A Wp Theme?

Wow! I didn't know I could still get in here. It's been at least 2 - 3 years - and I tried a username and password just to see if it worked - and it did!! Woo-Hoo!!

Anyway, I posted yesterday, as a guest, in the pre-sales forum. I used to have a website hosted by TCH and loved it here - and I'm coming back. I bought my hosting package today, so I'm just waiting to get clearance for pointing DNS here. Can't wait!!

Anyhoo - - (sorry, I'm a writer by profession and tend to ramble) I was trying to decide on using WP or Joomla. I think I'm going to use WP on this site. I may use Joomla on another site I bought the domain for later..

So, I'm looking around at WP themes, checking out WP forums, TCH forums and I'm thinking that I really need to get a clear picture of what I'm going to want my site to do, correct? I guess what I'm asking is:

Do I have to watch out for themes that make it clear that they're "widget-friendly"?

How strict is TCH on using plug-ins??

How easy, hard is it to modify headers, footers, etc in WP themes? I'm praying they're WYSIWYG-friendly. Are they??

Also, I'm thinking of creating another site (domain name already purchased). In the meantime, it's not hosted somewhere. What do I do with this domain name? Leave it parked at GoDaddy? Can I "park" it as a subdomain on my 1st site? Is that recommended?? I understand that I'll have to purchase another hosting package when I'm ready to do something with it - so what do I do with it in the meantime??

I have a thousand other questions and I'm sure I'll be on the forums quite a bit in the next few months. I love the support and family here. I'm glad to be back! :tchrocks:

Do I have to watch out for themes that make it clear that they're "widget-friendly"?

How easy, hard is it to modify headers, footers, etc in WP themes? I'm praying they're WYSIWYG-friendly. Are they??