Sign in to follow this  
Singer

Troubles With Cgi-bin Script: Step 0

OK, this is my very, very, very first time trying to do something with CGI scripts. I tried using an existing Perl script which failed horribly, so I stepped way back and created the following very simple Perl script (of course, I may have a fundamental error in this, since I've never used Perl before :lol: ):

#!/usr/bin/perl

$abc = "1";

exit;

The script is in <domain name>/cgi-bin/test1.cgi and its permissions are set to 755.

At any rate, I'm getting the following error (the same as for the existing script) when I try to run it directly via the IE address bar:

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@<domain> and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apache/1.3.27 Server at www.cantatasingers.ottawa.on.ca Port 80

The error log shows the following messages:

File does not exist: /home/<userid>/public_html/500.shtml

Premature end of script headers: /home/<userid>/public_html/cgi-bin/test1.cgi

I'm guessing the "File does not exist" msg is immaterial. Any thoughts about the rest?

Thanks!

What is it you are trying to do? You have a definition but no operation.

Good point! I've now modified it so it creates a simple web page:

#!/usr/bin/perl

print "<html>";

print "<head></head>";

print "<body>Hello world!!</body>";

print "</html>";

exit;

I expect to see
Hello world!!

Unfortunately, I'm still seeing the error message I mentioned in my previous post.

Here's the script: