Hello, I am not sure where to post this question and I cannot login to the family section though I host two websites here. I am missing the seceret password.

I am an Aircraft Mechanic by trade and I made a website for my former employer. It has my name listed as the copyright holder on every page and in the meta tags. After leaving my former job I informed my former employer that since he had not paid me for the website and since I was the copyright holder he was no longer allowed to use my content on his website which he hosts here. He has not removed the content now some three weeks later. Is there any recource available to me to have that content removed by TCH or am I forced to seek legal help?

Thank you,

Lou Kitz

Welcome to the forums xplanes. To get access to the family section please PM a TCH staff member (the guys whose names are in red at the bottom of the page, like myself) with your domain name and we will send you the password.

Website content ownership can be a tough issue. If he's paying for the hosting, and you worked for him while you made the website for him, and you don't have anything to prove ownership other than "copyrighted by" on the site (which could easily be removed by him at any time), then you might have a tough time proving your case either here or in a court of law.

That's not saying we don't take copyright issues seriously, because we do. You just need to be able to prove it.

Feel free to IM or email me or open a Help Desk ticket if you would like to discuss the issue in detail.

Welcome to the Forums!

tch_welsign.gif

As to building a site for someone else, did you spell out in the contract that the content/graphics etc would be yours or theirs?