bshirl

Unusual Abuse ?

People in my office have received 2 threatening phone calls today from an individual who claims that someone from our ip address has been hitting his website (9 times so far today) and due to his advertising this costs him $45 for each hit??? He then tells us that he'll "body slam" us and that his company has almost unlimited $$$ and legal support and that we better stop right now or we face certain legal action.

For the life of me -- I can't fathom what in the world this guy is talking about. I'm assuming this is some sort of scam -- but I just can't see the angle? Any ideas??

Thanks,

Brent

Unlimited $$ and he's worried about $45 per hit? Sounds funny to me. Are you able to trace the call? While I'm not a lawyer, this sounds like "communicating a threat" or at the least, harrasment! Might want to notify the police on this one.

Just visiting his website costs him money? How are they "hitting" the site? Abusive calls should be reported to the proper authorities if you can get the information. Also what his site is.

I would be more than happy to visit his site several more times a day in order to take the focus off of you. :P

Anything for family.

Making a threat over the telephone lines is serious. Doing it from another state is, I believe, a federal offense.

As for how it could happen? If he's talking about referrals and you are on a shared server then it could be a link from any of the other sites hosted on that server.

Unlimited money, phoned threats, $45 per hit - he's an idiot. By the way, if you want Tech Support to help with this you could submit a ticket and see what they can offer. Let's (us) not do anything besides that, though... we don't need some psycho gunning down TCH family members over webhits!