Karen L

Ftp Upload Via Internet Explorer?

Hi all, I am new to TCH -- in fact, I am new to even having a website.

I have clients who need to be able to upload files to me via ftp. I have set up an ftp account for them to access and it works because some have already used it -- BUT only through an ftp client. Some of the people I deal with don't want to/can't install special ftp software and want to be able to send me files through their browser.

When I type in ftp. mydomain. com [spaces added for posting purposes] I see an error message saying Windows cannot access this folder and something about no anonymous login. I see that I can click 'ok' on the error message and then go to File>Login As and type in username and password and that gets me in, but is that the only way to do this? Is there some setting I can change so that message won't come up?

Any help would be appreciated -- please remember you are speaking to a newbie. Thanks!!!

Welcome to the forums and the family Karen :P

No you have the right procedure for ftp and IE

its clunky but it does work if you have to go that way.

And remember they will need to use the full email address as their user name.

You may want to look for a php upload script for them to login and browse their computer for files to upload to you.

Similar to the way file manager works for file upload.

Welcome to the family and forums Karen.

Don is correct, you have it right or can install an upload script. You can search hotscripts.com for one.

Welcome to the forum, Karen. ;)

We´re a happy bunch of people here, so any questions you might have, don´t hesitate to ask.

Thanks for the friendly welcome and for the help. Interesting and surprising that the error message is actually supposed to come up. I thought for sure I was doing something wrong.