I've been having a discussion with several people at work regarding VPNs and firewalls. They contend that because one is using a VPN on a broadband connection, that a firewall is not needed. I, being the paranoid kind, say that as long as you are connected to a broadband connection, there's always a chance someone could get in if there is not a firewall there.

What say ye, security guru's?

From my limited knowledge, a VPN connection protects your information between your applications and the VPN server itself. It does not provide complete end-to-end security. Not having a firewall between your broadband connection and your computer leaves that computer open to other types of access that may then be able to access the VPN connection.

We use VPN at work and I have it here. What happens in our case, and I'm by no means an expert so I don't know if it is in every setup, is that I am hooked to the internet just like any DSL subscriber in my town. At work our entire network is set up on the private IP addresses beginning with 10.10 so they don't map to the outside world. When I want to hook up to a computer at work I start up VPN and it creates a "tunnel" back to our network and does the ip tronslations and everything through, for lack of a better term, a gateway.

I can still get garbage from the internet via DSL. I can still transfer virus infested files to my work computer. And when I activate VPN, the scumware on my machine will say "Hey, there's a new computer on the network - 10.10.20.32 - let's go visit it."

So in all I'd say your coworkers are not correct just based on observation of how ours works.

Sorry, but I'll have to disagree :)

Just because you are on two different networks doesn't mean one can "see" the other. I believe they separate and the VPN is secure from prying eyes.

See if this helps a little.

h_tp://computer.howstuffworks.com/vpn.htm