Jump to content


Photo

Wireless Router With Content Filtering


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 09:31 AM

My partner is getting laptops for the boys for Christmas so muggins here has to set up a wireless network. I am after a wireless router that has good content filtering and preferably logging so I can control what they view and keep an eye on their activity. Any recommendations? I did ask Linksys for more details about theirs but getting sensible information from a help desk is near impossible.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#2 TCH-Bruce

TCH-Bruce

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 19,960 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 09:56 AM

What type of filtering are you looking for? Most wireless routers have some of that capability today. As well as setting times to allow access.

Bruce Richards
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.
Webhosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - General Support Forum

I am a Forum Moderator. While I can assist in answering most of your hosting related questions, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.


#3 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 09:58 AM

Content filtering where I can block certain terms/words. Such as Smoothwall Guardian offers. Bayesian perhaps.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#4 TCH-JimE

TCH-JimE

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,738 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 10:50 AM

Hmmm, I just looked at my D-link and I can't block content based on terms or words.

Personally, I would look at filtering from the laptop end.

JimE
J

#5 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 11:21 AM

The Linksys sounds like it may do the job but they certainly wont win any clear English awards (a UK award). Ifyou look at page 57 of the user guide it says

If you want to block websites using specific keywords, enter each keyword in a separate field next to Website
Blocking by Keyword.


but does that mean it looks for the words in the url or the content :-/

I have looked at CyberNanny etc but was hoping to avoid the cost. the free alternative (ParentControl toolbar) is a bit rubbish and easy to bypass.

Edited by carbonize, 19 October 2006 - 11:24 AM.

Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#6 TCH-Bruce

TCH-Bruce

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 19,960 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 11:27 AM

Another way you can block content (I do it all the time) is to create a custom HOSTS file with each address you want to block looping them back to 127.0.0.1

Most users don't know about the hosts file and would never think to look there.

Bruce Richards
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.
Webhosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - General Support Forum

I am a Forum Moderator. While I can assist in answering most of your hosting related questions, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.


#7 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 11:32 AM

Oh I'm aware of host files and could lock it to admin write only if i wanted to but that only blocks domains. I don't want to be blocking geocities.com just because some idiots abuse it hence wanting a content filter. My only other option is networking through my machine and using filtering software on there but setting up a wireless network that way is a nightmare.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#8 Head Guru

Head Guru

    Bill Kish Head Guru

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,797 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 11:37 AM

WG-102 Prosafe Wireless Router from Netgear will do the trick.

I block content based on url and keyword in url blocking.

The logging feature is useless, so i have the router dump its logs to my fileserver once per day and I analize the logs with a aftermarket app.

I used to be a very large dlink fan, however the past year we have seen a great decline in their products and I would not suggest them anylonger.

My entire home based network is all Netgear now.

Bill Kish

Head Cook and Bottle Washer

If you need help with your account or have any questions, please feel free to contact me using any of the contact methods below.  I can be reached 24 hours a day seven days per week.

Office :: 800-930-0485 x211
Mobile :: 248-632-3243

email: bill(at)totalchoicehosting.com

Instant Messenger -
AOL Instant Messenger: tchgurubill
Yahoo Messenger : tchgurubill
MSN Messenger : tchgurubill@hotmail.com

Thank you for your support and continued business


#9 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 11:56 AM

I think there's a problem with your status images. They are showing with the size as 2608x2573. Actually the HTML appears messed up. The HTML is

<A HREF="aim:goim?screenname=tchgurubill"<br /><IMG SRC="http://tchstatus.com...tchgurubill"<br />
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#10 TCH-Thomas

TCH-Thomas

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 14,907 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 12:32 PM

I think there's a problem with your status images. They are showing with the size as 2608x2573. Actually the HTML appears messed up.

The status images looks normal to me.

Thomas Jikrantz
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.

Any links or suggestions for third party software/sites should be used at your own risk. My opinions and recommendations are not necessary those of TCH and TCH is not responsible.

As a Forum Moderator I can assist in answering many of your hosting related questions. However, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.
Web Hosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - 24/7 Help Desk


#11 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 03:58 PM

Yes just work was blocking them and making them huge. The HTML is stil messed up though. I just checked in both Firefox and IE

<A HREF="aim:goim?screenname=tchgurubill"<br /><IMG SRC="http://tchstatus.com...tchgurubill"<br /><A HREF="ymsgr:sendIM?tchgurubill"><IMG SRC="http://tchstatus.com...tchgurubill"<br /><IMG SRC="http://tchstatus.com...mail.com"</div>


Any more ideas on routers?
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#12 heyguy

heyguy

    Distant Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 19 October 2006 - 06:35 PM

I have a Netgear FVS318 wired VPN firewall router with URL and URL keyword filtering. Doesn't do straight content filtering as far as I know - I'd imagine a router that capable would cost some $$$$.

As far as brands go in general, it took me awhile to find the right combination but I'm finally happy with my wired Netgear router/firewall and a separate Linksys wireless access point.

#13 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 20 October 2006 - 02:00 AM

I don't mind spending money on hardware I'm just reluctant about spending it on software.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#14 stevevan

stevevan

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,522 posts

Posted 20 October 2006 - 03:06 PM

I would second the Netgear route. I have them on my home network...easy to set up and seems to work pretty darn good! (My son was pissed when he couldn't access a porno site at 3:00 a.m.! Made me very happy I was using it!)
Steve, W4SJV

"When all else fails (and it will)...there's Amateur Radio!"
"It is better to let people THINK you're a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

#15 makaveli

makaveli

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 420 posts

Posted 20 October 2006 - 08:09 PM

i have a dlink mimo router (finding mimo) dunno what that is but anyways i can block IP adresses, swear words and rude words etc
Half Man, Half Machine, What Does it Mean, What Does it Mean?.
IPB Image

#16 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 21 October 2006 - 12:42 AM

Looks to me like all routers work the same where you can block specific urls or block urls that contain certain words but they will not filter the pages content. Guess it's time to fork out $35 for cybernanny or similar need two copies so $70, about 40 in real money).
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#17 TCH-Andy

TCH-Andy

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,699 posts

Posted 21 October 2006 - 03:20 AM

Have a look at http://www.naomifilter.org/ - Naomi, which is a freeware internet filter. It also has a link to various other filter systems on that page.
Andy Beckett
-----------------
Part of the TCH family since the beginnings of time.

#18 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 21 October 2006 - 03:25 AM

God I love my works filtering. I can't even visit htxp://www.naomifilter.org.

The page has been blocked because the content has been deemed unrelated to business needs.

URL: htxp://www.naomifilter.org
Reason: Banned phrase found.

The man who deals with the filtering is a total idiot. He once blocked eBay but then unblocked it and now he's blocked PayPal. So I can buy things but not pay for them :| He's also blocked my domain :-(

Edited by carbonize, 21 October 2006 - 03:31 AM.

Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#19 darthsparky

darthsparky
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 12:15 PM

this could do the trick ...

http://www.trusteli....umer/index.html

i have not had a chance to test it out, so if you do, i'd be curious what you think.

currently, i use the software from Astaro...

www.astaro.com

free to download...plus an anuual subscription fee. you'll need an old pc to run it on.

Content filtering (for both the astaro software and the eli router) is dynamic based on a database of sites, instead of just url filtering. Not sure about the eli device, but astaro software also scans images (jpg, bmp etc) and can block xxx content based on just the image itself.

Edited by darthsparky, 22 November 2006 - 12:16 PM.


#20 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 12:34 PM

Thanks for the suggestion but I've gone ahead and got a Linksys router and purchased Content Protect to sit on the laptops.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#21 PeterPeter

PeterPeter

    Distant Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 05:51 PM

Billion Modems can do this as well.

Problem with Software filters on their own machines the children these days are pretty savy.

Blocking at the modem/router with you as the only login admin makes it pretty impossible to hack into.

#22 TCH-Thomas

TCH-Thomas

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 14,907 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 03:39 AM

Welcome to the forum, darthsparky. :(

Thomas Jikrantz
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.

Any links or suggestions for third party software/sites should be used at your own risk. My opinions and recommendations are not necessary those of TCH and TCH is not responsible.

As a Forum Moderator I can assist in answering many of your hosting related questions. However, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.
Web Hosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - 24/7 Help Desk


#23 TCH-Don

TCH-Don

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,642 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 04:00 AM

Welcome to the forums darthsparky :(

#24 TCH-Bruce

TCH-Bruce

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 19,960 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 08:43 AM

Welcome to the forums darthsparky :lol:

Bruce Richards
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.
Webhosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - General Support Forum

I am a Forum Moderator. While I can assist in answering most of your hosting related questions, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.


#25 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 10:17 AM

There is no way around Content Protect as it sits at the socket level and can only be disabled/uninstalled using a password.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#26 Head Guru

Head Guru

    Bill Kish Head Guru

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,797 posts

Posted 01 December 2006 - 09:24 AM

Content Protect work arounds are available and I have seen them used in production windows networks.

If you build it they will work around it.

The only true web filtering is firewall based :( Netsreen makes a unreal line of consumer/production based firewalls that are really amazing. http://juniper.net

Needless to say, our entire west coast cage sits on Juniper Networking Componets.

Bill Kish

Head Cook and Bottle Washer

If you need help with your account or have any questions, please feel free to contact me using any of the contact methods below.  I can be reached 24 hours a day seven days per week.

Office :: 800-930-0485 x211
Mobile :: 248-632-3243

email: bill(at)totalchoicehosting.com

Instant Messenger -
AOL Instant Messenger: tchgurubill
Yahoo Messenger : tchgurubill
MSN Messenger : tchgurubill@hotmail.com

Thank you for your support and continued business


#27 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 01 December 2006 - 12:44 PM

Thankfully they aint that computer savvy so I'm not that concerned about them figuring out workarounds. That and I'm logging everything anyway.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#28 Head Guru

Head Guru

    Bill Kish Head Guru

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,797 posts

Posted 01 December 2006 - 02:42 PM

The workaround is a .exe file that is installed on local client.

One click and Content Protected is bypassed, hopefully your monitoring .exe downloads :(

Bill Kish

Head Cook and Bottle Washer

If you need help with your account or have any questions, please feel free to contact me using any of the contact methods below.  I can be reached 24 hours a day seven days per week.

Office :: 800-930-0485 x211
Mobile :: 248-632-3243

email: bill(at)totalchoicehosting.com

Instant Messenger -
AOL Instant Messenger: tchgurubill
Yahoo Messenger : tchgurubill
MSN Messenger : tchgurubill@hotmail.com

Thank you for your support and continued business


#29 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 01 December 2006 - 02:53 PM

No I blocked the downloading of executables as well as archived files on their laptops. They also only have user level access to the laptops.If they want anything installing they have to ask me. If they want to download something they have to use the desktop.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.

#30 ortizj

ortizj
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 February 2012 - 06:49 PM

Hi all,
I am looking for a way to monitor and log what my young daughters say/receive over their emails. I know there are PC/Mac based apps thatwill do that, but in my household the kids can use any number of computers (4), iPads (2), Androids, iPhone Touch devices they can grab So i am looking for a way to centralize this function.

Can anybody help?

Jose
Boston, MA

#31 carbonize

carbonize

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 07:44 AM

Without access to their email accounts you can't although I suspect a link is going to be posted sometime soon.
Carbonize
Lazarus Guestbook
A SPADE IS A SPADE - I'm here to help people not to win friends or gain popularity.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users