Jump to content


Photo

Flash banner not displaying for all


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 rbb213

rbb213

    Family Friend

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 03:51 PM

Okay, here it is, I am trying to add a flash banner to my website again, but for some reason its not coming up....

www.redlineriders.org/main.htm

It should be on top of the top line, but it doesnt want to play right...any ideas...

TIA>..
"To Be or Not To Be"

hmmmmm, Who said that?

#2 TCH-Dick

TCH-Dick

    General Manager

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,786 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 04:09 PM

The flash with the spinning frame and red text? That loads OK for me.

Dick DeVance
General Manager
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc
dick@totalchoicehosting.com


Posted Image


#3 rbb213

rbb213

    Family Friend

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 04:28 PM

The flash with the spinning frame and red text? That loads OK for me.



Yes thats it, but for soem reason, it wont come up on some other peoples computers...Could it be the computers issue and not the servers?>...
"To Be or Not To Be"

hmmmmm, Who said that?

#4 TCH-Bruce

TCH-Bruce

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 19,960 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 04:34 PM

If they don't have flash installed they won't see it.

Bruce Richards
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.
Webhosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - General Support Forum

I am a Forum Moderator. While I can assist in answering most of your hosting related questions, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.


#5 rbb213

rbb213

    Family Friend

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 04:37 PM

If they don't have flash installed they won't see it.



Gotcha, Now how did I over look that?...lol....Thanks...
"To Be or Not To Be"

hmmmmm, Who said that?

#6 TCH-Don

TCH-Don

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,642 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 04:43 PM

Loads fine.

I would think the ones without flash would be prompted to download flash and that would be a clue.

#7 TCH-Rob

TCH-Rob

    Help Desk Manager

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,797 posts

Posted 09 April 2006 - 09:56 PM

Yup, when I go there it is missing and asking me to install the plugin.

#8 TCH-JimE

TCH-JimE

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,738 posts

Posted 10 April 2006 - 08:52 AM

Hello,

One thing to note, as of tomorrow (10th April), Microsoft will begin pushing out a IE update which will affect the way the objects embedded into IE work, this includes flash.

Make sure you test your page after getting the update to see how it effects it

JimE
J

#9 Alan

Alan

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 21 April 2006 - 05:50 AM

omg, ROB! You have been using the net without fashplayer this long?!?!?!


(Soo easy, a caveman could do it) :)
Later,
Alan S
Fhait.com

#10 Kevan

Kevan

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts

Posted 21 April 2006 - 09:06 AM

(Soo easy, a caveman could do it) :lol:


Watch it Alan! :) Have your done your research?? :(
Kevan
Tampa, FL

#11 TCH-Bruce

TCH-Bruce

    Volunteer Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 19,960 posts

Posted 21 April 2006 - 09:13 AM

(Soo easy, a caveman could do it)

Just because you can doesn't mean you should. :)

Bruce Richards
Forum Moderator
TotalChoice Hosting, Inc.
Webhosting by Total Choice Web Hosting - General Support Forum

I am a Forum Moderator. While I can assist in answering most of your hosting related questions, I am unable to answer questions about specifics relating to your account such as billing and server related issues. Should you need assistance in these areas, please contact our Help Desk or our many other options. Another good place to find answers is with our help pages, tutorials and movie tutorials.


#12 TCH-Tim

TCH-Tim

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts

Posted 21 April 2006 - 10:36 AM

I hate Flash. As anybody who's submitted a website for review and dared to include flashy elements knows. :notworthy:
Tim Hodge
Operations Manager
Total Choice Hosting, LLC

TOS and AUP - have you read them?

Chat me up:
AIM: tchgurutim
Yahoo: tchgurutim
ICQ: 369396726

#13 TCH-Don

TCH-Don

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,642 posts

Posted 21 April 2006 - 03:21 PM

It does seem that some use flash because they can
even though it serves no real purpose for them.

#14 Samrc

Samrc

    Immediate Family

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,336 posts

Posted 21 April 2006 - 08:27 PM

I use it for limited ads or simple presentations. Had to recently talk someone out of building a FLASH INTRO (with nothing else on page). Can't stand them myself and they can negatively impact rankings.

And now that IE has that patch that requires user to click to activate each menu choice in a flash piece, I am REALLY glad I talked him out of the flash intro that had a grid style menu on it.
Samantha
SamiSite.com CSB and WYSIWYG program tutorials
Feel free to right click the silly little forum images I use and save them to your own website space.
Then link to your own site. Please don't hotlink to my website to use the images. Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users