Ssl Certificate Renewal Process Needs Help

jberg

Let me start by saying, I love TCH. I have been using TCH for my client's for over 13 years. Great price, good service, and fast servers. However, the SSL Certificate renewal process leaves much to be desired. I wonder if it would be possible to streamline the process and make it as pain free as the hosting renewal is?

Recently my client received an email from William (automated I'm sure), saying that the SSL certificate is due to expire in a couple months and they should contact TCH to renew it. My client then opens a support ticket to renew the SSL and is given a link to follow to pay for the renewal (still wonder why this can't be done through the billing account website where hosting renewal takes place). My client then pays the amount necessary for renewal and follows up on the support ticket saying that it has been paid (which always confuses my clients, "Why don't they know I have paid already?"). Then my client is notified that the SSL certificate isn't due to expire for a couple months and should wait until the last couple days before expiration to renew to get the full 12 months. Fair enough, but can't that be taken care of by TCH? After all, the request was made by the TCH email to contact them for renewal and I think it should be assumed that renewal should take place at the last possible moment to get the full 12 month life of the SSL certificate. This process always confuses my clients and then the next question to me is always, "why don't we switch to a different host?".

Anyway, I guess this comes down to a feature request. Can SSL Certificate renewal be handled like hosting renewal? Just automatically charge the CC# on file and automatically renew the certifiate at the proper time? Or are there issues with doing it this way?

Thanks for any changes you can make to the process to streamline.

• 1 year later...