Question About Payment Gateway For Scratch Built Shopping Cart

Hi everyone,

I am giving myself an ulcer over this....

I've built a simple ecommerce site for a client who will be selling a product out of the United States. All aspects of the site are in place and are working. The client has an existing Merchant visa account and they want to be able to process the online orders they receive through this merchant VISA. I have purchased an SSL and secure server with TotalChoice. Now I need to know how to get the Credit Card information to my customer in the States SECURELY. I am assuming I need something like Verisign to do this? But I am totally new to all this. In the past, I have gone through Paypal, but this customer doesn't want to do that because the online items are quite expensive and they will lose a lot through the commission Paypay charges.

Can anyone offer me some clarity on how this secure transfer of information needs to happen and maybe offer some advice on which company is a good one and what I should be asking for? Thanks so much. I'm losing sleep over worrying about this!

You need to look into online payment processors.

A few examples of some are:

SecPay (paypoint)

SagePay (formally Protx who I myself have integrated with successfully in the past)

WorldPay

What you tend to have to do is send a HTTPS POST to their gateway with the details they require and they process the payment for you and send you back a secure response which you then process your end to update your database records.

Some of them even host the payment screens for you, so you don't have to build those yourself.