Converting Seven Images To One

Boojum

I am merging my site banner and navigation tabs into one image, rather than having the tabs float as separate images just over the banner (which produced variable results in different browsers). But I'm still new to Adobe ImageReady, and not quite sure about the best way to do this.

The banner/navbar will consist of one slice for the banner proper, and one each for the six attached tabs, each of which has three possible appearances: active, inactive and mouseover. Which tab is active depends on the part of the site one is in. (This design is functionally similar to the existing one, which will give an idea of the effect intended.)

My concern is one of implementation. Need I make a separate banner/navbar for each subdomain, or is there some way to use slices to consolidate the images? And (either way) is there some order that must be followed in creating/assigning rollover slices other than to apply them directly above the normal-state images?

I could probably show you how to do it in Fireworks but I am no use in ImageReady. The only way I know to have it automatically include on every page would be to use PHP. Other than that I believe you will have to manualy add it.

Someone should be along soon with a proper answer for ImageReady.

Long time no see.

It seems my description was not as clear as I'd hoped. :P

I already have the banner and tabs included on each page via PHP. The problem is to combine them into one image.

Currently, I have a tab for each of my subdomains, and, within a given subdomain, the corresponding tab is "active" and the others "inactive": To see what I mean, please compare this page with this one, noting that the "Home" tab is active on the first and the "Santa Cruz" tab on the second.