Ereg Functions Deprecated In Php 5.3, Removed In 6.0

cbutler

The PHP language developers have decided the PERL/preg functions are superior, so the PHP ereg() family is being deprecated in PHP 5.3, and removed in PHP 6.0

That will break every PHP-based website I've developed over the past 5 years, and I suspect I'm not alone.

I'm hoping some TCH gurus are paying attention and will complain loudly on this issue, because TCH gurus can expect total outrage from PHP users like me when the transition to PHP 5.3 or PHP 6.3 occurs.

The solution seems simple. Just tell the PHP language developers to keep the ereg family in the codebase, but state explicitly that no further development or bug fixes will be done on those functions.

Thanks,

Chris Butler

As a developer myself, sometimes it is hard to strike a balance between legacy feature support and moving forward with changes that will enhance performance, reliability or security (or all of). Let me be clear, I do develop php code and extensively use ereg in allot of my stuff, however I do think that going forward and given sufficient time people can safely transition to perl regexp functions with minimal effort. The actual transition to php6 is a bit of a ways off in any production environment and likely will resemble transitions of the past in that for a short time, php5 compatible binaries will still be available on servers to allow legacy applications to work without major overhauls in the short term.

Identify where you use ereg functions, start making it habit in new development projects to stop using it and over time back track older code and replace it. At the end the day, php developers are just trying to do what they feel is right for the community at large, which as a matter of preference most agree perl regexp is far superior than maintaining a stand alone regexp implementation.